Differences across the pond....

PorkandPancakes

So I was looking at the food thread and it got me to thinking about my latest dishes. I recently cooked a chicken Tikka Masala from scratch using lots of herbs and spices that I've never used before. Which got me wondering if Americans have Indian Takeaway food like we have here? What kind of takeaways do you have? (I think you call it takeout)

I can contest in Ohio they don't have many Indian restaurants, I brought onion bajhi mix over with me and made them to get my fix, you can get curry paste and some curry sauce but it's mega expensive

Chinese takeaways are more popular so I'm not complaining :)

Other states I'm sure will be different

• Like 1

Do you miss it Tracey? Sometimes a curry and a poppadum just can't be beaten!

Omg do I ever miss it, in the UK my preference was Chinese but now and again a good curry is what you need and when you can't get it you want it more lol

The Chinese here is different, took me 6 takeaways to find something similar and that's not a takeaway it's an all you can eat, like cosmos but unlike cosmos they don't do Indian!

Well I don't know but I hear American choc is sweeter. Apparently lots of Brits will go hunting down uk chocolate?! Tracey should be able to answer having sampled both - at least I assume she has....?!

What other takeouts do you get then apart from Chinese?

Thanks for reminding me. I have an Indian/Mediterranean restaurant right down the street from where I just moved to. I'm going to try the chicken marsala for lunch tomorrow  :)

• Like 1

The chocolate here us totally different, some good some really bad, but hershey which is the American equivalent to Cadbury has brought out Cadbury in th UK not alot of people know that, so over time the Cadbury chocolate we know and love will change as its expensive to produce compare to Hershey recipes

I have noticed more brands over here and nearly wet myself with excitement when I saw a cavity creme egg lol