Once you first quit, there is NEVER going back

Although this quit is only 3 days old, I have been quitting since 01/04/2012. In that time, I have learned one thing, once we quit, there is no turning back.

Once you decide to quit, you can never go back to that full-on smoker who never worried about health issues, money issues, or any other smoking related issue. Specifically, any quitter who has learned the slightest little bit about smoking and it's addiction. You can never go back to that person who never thought about quitting. That person is gone forever. No matter how much you smoke, you can never become that person ever again.

So, I have been on this journey for over two years. When I quit, I love it! However, there are those times that I have relapsed. Even on the relapses from the very first puff, I have regretted it. However, that did not stop the addiction. Some relapses lasted one hour, some for several months. All the while during a relapse, I still wanted to be a nonsmoker.

I know now that I have to go all the way through. I have to make it to the lido deck. This ride has gone on for far too long. As I saw in somebody's tag line that said something along the lines of: 'If you want off this ride quit standing in line for a ticket.' That's what I have been doing for two years. Getting on the ride, getting off when it just started and going back for a ticket. Getting back on the ride, perhaps riding until almost the end, because I still don't know when the end is, and jumping off to run around for another ticket. How many times have I gotten back in line? (That's another story)

Well, this time, I am locked into my seat on the ride and riding all the way to the end. I am finally  going to find the end of this ride.

• Like 10

Good post Iam...and so very true.

Lol @ Marti's NOT just loves young dream.