Introducing myself

Chrysalis

Hi, folks-

I am not a newbie to quitting smoking; I've been quit for almost 5 months. But I am new to Quit Train and am excited to meet you all. 

Some background about me: I was smoking about a pack and a half a day for over 40 years. I seriously quit smoking 3 times in my life for periods of several months to one year. Each time I relapsed either because of weight gain or unbearable stress or both. I decided to try again because as I get older I want to remain (or should I say become) as healthy and fit as I can be so that I can be vigorous and active in my senior years. 

This time I used Chantix (which worked great for me) and participated in a quit smoking forum (which also worked great for me). I feel strong in my quit (most of the time), but my personal history of relapse plus the statistical probability of relapses in general makes me nervous. I've quit before for many months and relapsed so I am very worried about doing it again.  

I have read Alan Carr's book and found it very helpful for understanding the nature of the nicotine addiction, the way it messes with your thinking, and how to overcome it. I very much appreciate his insights and advice. However, I have come to believe that the "just don't smoke" message-- while it works for most of the people most of the time-- does not work for everyone all of the time. Sometimes we need a little more thought, depth, flexibility and creativity.

I have heard that QuitTrain recommends Alan Carr and similar techniques but also embraces "out of the box" thinking about quitting smoking and staying quit. So that is what I am hoping to find here-- shared knowledge and experiences that will help me maintain my quit for the rest of my life. In turn, I hope that my knowledge and experience will help others. Let us link arms and continue on this journey together.  

• Like 13

Hi Chrys,

Good to see you here.